Rice Krispies look like a safe choice to eat on a gluten free diet since they are made from rice. But are Rice Krispies gluten free?
We’ll examine, is there gluten in Rice Krispies and why they are not gluten free and I’ll share some substitutes.
What are Rice Krispies?
Rice Krispies is a breakfast cereal made by Kellogg’s. It is made from rice that is toasted with a sugar coating, and is known for its distinctive “snap, crackle, and pop” sound when milk is added to it.
The cereal was first introduced in 1928 and has since become a popular breakfast option around the world.
Rice Krispies ingredients
Rice Krispies are made of a few ingredients like rice, sugar, salt, and malt flavor plus a few added vitamins. (ref)
If you have been wondering do Rice Krispies have gluten? The gluten is hiding in the malt flavor.
Is malt flavor gluten free?
No, malt flavor is not gluten free. It is derived from barley. Malt flavoring should be avoided on a gluten free diet. (ref)
On Kellogg’s website, Rice Krispies is not listed as having gluten as an allergen. It is important to always read the labels to see where gluten is hiding.
Are Rice Krispies Gluten Free?
Kellogg’s Rice Krispie treats are not gluten free because they contain malt flavoring.
But you can still enjoy Rice Krispies on a gluten free diet, you just need to buy a gluten free brand of crisp rice cereal. See below for brand recommendations.
How are Rice Krispies made?
Rice Krispies are made by puffing rice grains and then toasting them to create the signature “snap, crackle, and pop” sound.
The process begins with rice, which is mixed with sugar and salt and then heated to high temperatures.
The heat causes the rice grains to expand and become very light and fluffy.
After the rice is puffed, it is then toasted to give it a crispy texture and the signature “snap, crackle, and pop” sound.
What do you use Rice Krispies for?
Rice Krispies are a popular breakfast cereal that is often served with milk. They can also be used in a variety of other ways.
For example, they can be used as a crunchy topping for yogurt or ice cream, or they can be mixed with melted chocolate to create a tasty and satisfying snack.
Rice Krispies are also used to make Rice Krispies treats, where they are mixed with melted marshmallows to create a sweet and gooey dessert. It’s a budget-friendly and easy snack to make.
There are many ways to use Rice Krispies and I love using a gluten free brand to make treats.
Gluten Free Rice Krispies Brands
These brands use rice and other gluten-free ingredients to make their version of Rice Krispies. If you have gluten sensitivity or celiac disease you can purchase these products.
Always make sure a product is certified gluten free before purchasing it.
Gluten Free Rice Krispie Cereals
- Aldi Crispy Rice Cereal
- Back to Nature GF Sprout & Shine Cereal
- Barbara’s Organic Brown Rice Crisps Cereal
- Erewhon Crispy Brown Rice Cereal
- Nature’s Path Crispy Rice Cereal
- One Degree Brown Rice Crisps Cereal
Are Rice Krispies Healthy?
I personally don’t feel Rice Krispies are healthy because it is all simple carbs and those carbs spike your blood sugar.
Are Rice Krispies Dairy Free?
Yes, Rice Krispies are dairy free because their ingredients do not contain dairy. Dairy is often added when you use them to make a Rice Krispies treat (butter is used), or when you eat them as cereal, milk is often poured over them.
Are Rice Krispies Nut Free?
Their website says to always refer to the package to see if it may contain nuts.
More is it gluten free articles
- Are Rice Noodles Gluten Free
- Is Fried Rice Gluten Free
- Is Basmati Rice Gluten Free
- Is Sushi Rice Gluten Free
- Is Rice Paper Gluten Free
Carol Lovett is the founder of Ditch the Wheat and a Globe and Mail bestselling author of the cookbook, Ditch the Wheat. She has been eating gluten free since 2010. She loves all things food, natural living, and spiritual. She’s also a reiki master and crystal healer.