We know pasta is not gluten free, but have you ever thought about the sauce? Is Alfredo sauce gluten free?
We’re diving into the mouthwatering realm of Alfredo sauce! So, grab a fork, and let’s dig in!
The answer to this question really surprised me. We’ll look at the ingredients of store-bought Alfredo sauces and the typical homemade version.
What is Alfredo Sauce?
Alfredo sauce is a luscious, velvety concoction that originates from Italy. It is a rich and creamy sauce renowned for its smooth texture and buttery taste.
Traditionally, Alfredo sauce is made by combining butter, Parmesan cheese, and heavy cream. It’s a true comfort food that can elevate any dish to new heights of deliciousness.
Alfredo Sauce Ingredients
Let’s break down the ingredients that make Alfredo sauce so comforting. I am using the ingredients of Classico Roasted Garlic Alfredo Pasta Sauce for our example.
WATER, HEAVY CREAM (FROM MILK), PARMESAN CHEESE (PART-SKIM MILK, CHEESE CULTURES, SALT, ENZYMES), MODIFIED CORNSTARCH, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF SALT, ENZYME MODIFIED EGG YOLKS, ROASTED GARLIC, SUGAR, WHEY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE, NATURAL FLAVOR, FLAVORED BUTTER (BUTTER [CREAM, SALT], NATURAL FLAVOR), XANTHAN GUM, PASTEURIZED MILK, LACTIC ACID, BUTTER (CREAM), GUM ARABIC, SODIUM PHOSPHATE, CHEESE CULTURES, ENZYMES.
Since this recipe is easy to make from scratch I also looked at the ingredients for the most popular Alfredo sauce recipe from All Recipes.
butter, heavy cream, freshly grated Parmesan cheese, garlic clove, fresh parsley
How is Alfredo Sauce Made?
Making Alfredo sauce is a breeze! Here’s a quick rundown of the process:
- Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat until it’s sizzling and fragrant.
- Add minced garlic and cook for a minute or so until it becomes aromatic.
- Pour in the heavy cream, stirring continuously to combine with the melted butter.
- Sprinkle in grated Parmesan cheese, allowing it to melt into the sauce while stirring gently. Keep stirring until the cheese has fully melted and the sauce is smooth and creamy.
- Season with salt and pepper to taste, and voila! Your homemade Alfredo sauce is ready.
Is Alfredo Sauce Gluten Free?
Good news, traditional Alfredo sauce is gluten free since it doesn’t contain wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients. However, it’s always essential to double-check the ingredients or make your own to ensure it’s free from any hidden gluten sources.
I’m not a pasta person, and I really assumed this sauce was thickened with flour. It was a surprise to realize it’s naturally gluten free!
See below to find out if specific brands of Alfredo sauce are gluten free because some are not.
What Do You Use Alfredo Sauce For?
Alfredo sauce is incredibly versatile, adding flavor to countless dishes. Here are some delicious ways to enjoy it:
- Pasta: Toss cooked (gluten free) pasta in Alfredo sauce for an instant gourmet meal.
- Pizza: Use Alfredo sauce as a base for a unique and yummy white pizza. Top it with your favorite ingredients like chicken, spinach, and sun-dried tomatoes.
- Chicken Alfredo: Smother grilled or roasted chicken breasts with Alfredo sauce for a heavenly combination. Serve it with steamed vegetables or over a bed of fluffy rice for a complete meal.
- Lasagna: Make Alfredo lasagna for a nice twist.
Is Bertolli Alfredo sauce gluten free?
Yes, the ingredients in Bertolli Alfredo sauce are gluten free. It’s not certified gluten free.
Is Olive Garden Alfredo sauce gluten free?
No, Olive Garden’s Alfredo sauce is not gluten free according to their allergen chart. (Source)
This is a great example that you can’t assume every sauce is going to be gluten free.
Is Prego Alfredo sauce gluten free?
Is Prego Homestyle Alfredo gluten free?
Is Classico Alfredo sauce gluten free?
Yes, the ingredients in Classico Alfredo sauce are gluten free. It’s not certified gluten free.
Is Ragu Alfredo sauce gluten free?
Yes, the ingredients in Ragu Alfredo sauce are gluten free. It’s not certified gluten free.
Is Great Value Alfredo sauce gluten free?
Yes, the ingredients in Great Value Alfredo sauce are gluten free. It’s not certified gluten free.
Gluten free Alfredo sauce brands
The only certified gluten free Alfredo sauce I found is made by Primal Kitchen and it’s also dairy free. I haven’t tasted it myself but I have tasted their other products and their stuff is always great.DISCLOSURE: Not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader. Ditch the Wheat is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I only endorse products that I believe in.
Carol Lovett is the founder of Ditch the Wheat and a Globe and Mail bestselling author of the cookbook, Ditch the Wheat. She has been eating gluten free since 2010. She loves all things food, natural living, and spiritual. She’s also a reiki master and crystal healer.