Are Smarties Gluten Free?

This post contains affiliate links including Amazon affiliate links.

Smarties are a fun chocolate snack. With the rise of gluten intolerance and celiac disease, we need to ask: are Smarties gluten free?

I’ll be breaking down exactly what goes into making Smarties, helping you make an informed decision about whether or not they’re an option for your snacking needs when on a gluten free diet.

Are Smarties Gluten Free

When I was a child I always received Smarties for Halloween. I even bought them at the concession stand when going to the movies. They’re so tasty!

To be honest, for a long time, I never questioned if they contained gluten because I assumed they were just chocolate with a candy coating.

What are Smarties?

Smarties are a brand of candy that was first developed in 1882 in the UK and were known as chocolate beans. They are small, round, sugar-coated chocolates that come in a variety of colors.

In 1937 they were rebranded as Smarties. (Source)

Are Smarties Gluten Free

Smarties Ingredients

The ingredients in Smarties are sugar, cocoa butter, skimmed milk powder, cocoa mass, lactose and protein from whey (from milk), wheat powder, butterfat (from milk), rice starch, Emulsifier: Sunflower lecithin, fruit and vegetable concentrates (carnauba wax, bees wax), natural vanilla flavoring, invert sugar syrup. (Source)

You might have noticed in the ingredients they have something listed as wheat powder.

What is wheat powder?

I couldn’t find an exact explanation of what wheat powder is. So I am going to assume it is wheat that is finely ground into a powder. So this ingredient would have gluten in it and would not be suitable for gluten free diets.

Are Smarties Gluten Free

How are Smarties Made?

Smarties are made by mixing the ingredients together and then pouring the mixture into molds. The molds are then cooled and the candies are removed. They are then coated in sugar and food coloring. 

Are Smarties Gluten Free?

Unfortunately, Nestle Smarties are not gluten free since they contain wheat powder. However, there are a few brands of candies that are similar to Smarties that are gluten free. 

Are Smarties Gluten Free

Gluten Free Smarties Brands

Don’t worry, if you love Smarties and want to eat them on a gluten free diet below are a few brands you can try that are not only gluten free but contain healthier ingredients.

These would be great for Halloween and the holidays or as a fun snack. All of these brands are gluten free.

Are Smarties Gluten Free

Are Smarties vegan?

No, Nestle Smarties are not vegan. They contain whey, butterfat, and beeswax.

If you refer to the list of alternative Smarties brands above, you will find vegan options.

More Is It Gluten Free Guides

DISCLOSURE: Not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader. Ditch the Wheat is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I only endorse products that I believe in.

Website | + posts

Carol Lovett is the founder of Ditch the Wheat and a Globe and Mail bestselling author of the cookbook, Ditch the Wheat. She has been eating gluten free since 2010. She loves all things food, natural living, and spiritual. She's also a reiki master and crystal healer.

Gluten Free Resources

Do you need help with gluten free meals?
I recommend this meal-planning app. It makes cooking gluten free dinners extremely easy and family-friendly.
What gluten free snacks can I eat?
Lots! I have a ton of practical gluten free snack recipes in my cookbook.
How can I eat dessert on a gluten free diet?
You can 100% eat dessert while eating gluten free. Try my dessert cookbook for easy gluten free dessert recipes.
How do I know what is gluten free and what isn’t?
I have a whole section is it gluten free?
How do I make substitutions?
If you need substitution advice I created a ton of resources here.

A plate with a blue rim that is filled with monster energy balls.

No Bake Monster Balls

A baking sheet with 12 oatmeal raisin balls on it.

4-Ingredient Oatmeal Raisin Balls

Sheet pan nachos with salsa and sour cream.

A Nacho Bar Party Is The Party Trend You Need To Try!

No Added Sugar Popsicles Ditch the Wheat

7 Popsicle Recipes with No Added Sugar

THE BEST Dairy-Free Mint Chip Ice Cream - coconut milk, mint and chocolate chips! It's so delicious! THE BEST Dairy-Free Chocolate Ice Cream!!! paleo ice cream, keto ice cream, keto dairy free ice cream, dairy free ice cream, dairy free ice cream, Vegan ice cream, vegan ice cream #paleoicecream #dairyfreeicecream #ketoicecream #veganicecream

Dairy Free Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Two white bowls with crispy garlicky kale chips covered in Parmesan cheese.

Crispy Garlicky Kale Chips