Skittles are so yummy and a little addicting. But are Skittles gluten free? It’s important to know when you’re eating gluten free.
These rainbow-colored treats are a classic candy.
We’ll take a closer look at the ingredients and production process of Skittles to answer the question of whether or not they are gluten free.
What are Skittles?
The candy is available in a variety of flavors, including the classic original, which includes:
- Strawberry (red)
- Lime (green)
- Blackcurrant (purple)
- Sour Mandarin (orange)
- Sour Pineapple (yellow)
- Sour Raspberry (pink)
Skittles are made with a variety of ingredients, including sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil; less than 2% of: citric acid, tapioca dextrin, modified corn starch, natural and artificial flavors, colors (red 40 lake, yellow 5 lake, blue 2 lake, yellow 6 lake, titanium dioxide, blue 1 lake, yellow 6, red 40, yellow 5, blue 1), sodium citrate, carnauba wax.
How are Skittles made?
The production process for Skittles is interesting. First, the sugar, corn syrup, and hydrogenated palm oil are heated to create a sugar syrup.
This sugar syrup is then combined with the other ingredients and heated to create a dough. The dough is then cooled and cut into small pieces, which are then coated with the hard candy shell.
The Skittles are polished with cornstarch and then packaged.
Are Skittles Gluten Free?
Yes, Skittles are gluten free! None of the ingredients to make Skittles contain gluten.
Always check the packaging to see if the Skittles were manufactured in a building that uses gluten.
Healthy Skittles Brands
If you’re looking for a healthy Skittles alternative, here is one brand to consider:
Carol Lovett is the founder of Ditch the Wheat and a Globe and Mail bestselling author of the cookbook, Ditch the Wheat. She has been eating gluten free since 2010. She loves all things food, natural living, and spiritual. She’s also a reiki master and crystal healer.