For those avoiding gluten, it’s important to know the ingredients of the alcoholic beverages you’re consuming. Is rum gluten free or not?
Rum is such a fun alcohol to drink mixed with pop or juice. I can’t imagine not drinking a Pina Colada on vacation.
What Is Rum?
Rum is a type of distilled alcoholic beverage made from fermented sugarcane juice or molasses. It can range in color from clear to amber and in strength from light to dark. It is primarily produced in the Caribbean and Latin America, but is also distilled in other parts of the world.
Rum is influenced from the area it was created in. It is made with only a few simple ingredients: molasses from sugarcane, yeast, and water. (Source)
How Is Rum Made?
Rum is made by first extracting sugarcane juice or molasses. This is then fermented with yeast and distilled in an alcohol still. The distilled product can then be stored in oak barrels to age. The longer the rum is aged, the darker and more flavorful it becomes. (Source)
Is Rum Gluten Free?
Yes, rum is gluten free since it is made from naturally gluten free ingredients. However, it is important to note that if any gluten-containing ingredients are added during the distilling process, the rum may not be considered gluten free. For example, if the rum was sweetened with barley malt syrup it would not be gluten free.
Since rum is usually mixed with something you need to example the ingredients of what you are mixing it with like a can of coke.
Gluten Free Rum Brands
Most rum available will probably be gluten free since it is made with naturally gluten free ingredients. The brands below are naturally gluten free:
- Captain Morgan
- Malibu Rum
Carol Lovett is the founder of Ditch the Wheat and a Globe and Mail bestselling author of the cookbook, Ditch the Wheat. She has been eating gluten free since 2010. She loves all things food, natural living, and spiritual. She’s also a reiki master and crystal healer.