People with celiac disease or gluten sensitivities have to be very careful about what they eat and drink, and beer is no exception. So, is Budweiser gluten free?
What is Budweiser?
Budweiser is an iconic American beer brand, first brewed in St. Louis, Missouri in 1876. It is one of the world’s most popular beers and is a medium-bodied lager with a distinctive flavor.
Budweiser is produced using barley malt, rice, water, hops, and yeast. (Source)
How is Budweiser Made?
The barley malt and other grains are mixed with water and heated until it turns into a thick, sweet liquid known as wort. The wort is then cooled and fermented with yeast, which converts the sugars into alcohol. (Source)
Is Budweiser Gluten Free?
No, Budweiser is not gluten free. Since the alcohol does not go through a distillation process like whiskey does that removes the gluten, it still contains gluten from the barley malt. Barley malt is made from the grain barley and it contains gluten.
Read, what does gluten free mean for a deeper explanation.DISCLOSURE: Not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader. Ditch the Wheat is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I only endorse products that I believe in.
Carol Lovett is the founder of Ditch the Wheat and a Globe and Mail bestselling author of the cookbook, Ditch the Wheat. She has been eating gluten free since 2010. She loves all things food, natural living, and spiritual. She’s also a reiki master and crystal healer.