Is Hummus Gluten Free? Not Always

This post contains affiliate links including Amazon affiliate links.

Wondering if hummus is gluten free? You do need to be aware of a few things that makes this dip not gluten free.

I remember when I was growing up, hummus suddenly became this popular dip and my mom was buying it every week. Honestly, it was an easy way to get us to eat our veggies. Very clever mom!

This creamy, flavorful dip can sometimes be filled with gluten. Let’s discuss.

A bowl of hummus with vibrant vegetables like endive and sliced cherry tomatoes.

What is Hummus?

Hummus is a Middle Eastern dish that is made from cooked, mashed chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, and salt.

It is a popular dip for raw vegetables, pita bread, and crackers. It is also used as a sandwich spread and can be added to salads, wraps, bowls, and more.

Hummus Ingredients

The primary ingredients in hummus are chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, and salt. Tahini is a paste made from ground sesame seeds.

Below are the ingredients for a popular hummus by 365 by Whole Foods Marke.

Cooked Organic Chickpeas (Water, Organic Chickpeas), Organic Tahini (Organic Ground Sesame), Organic Expeller Pressed Canola Oil, Organic Lemon Juice, Organic Garlic, Water, Sea Salt, Citric Acid, Organic Cumin, Organic Paprika. (Source)

How is Hummus Made?

Hummus is made by blending chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, and garlic together until a smooth, creamy consistency is achieved.

Depending on the desired flavor, additional ingredients such as cumin, paprika, parsley, and other spices can be added.

A bowl of hummus with plates of pita bread.

Is Hummus Gluten Free?

Yes, hummus is naturally gluten free as long as it is made with gluten free ingredients. The primary ingredients in hummus, such as chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, and salt, are all naturally gluten free.

But you need to consider cross-contamination because unless it is created in a dedicated gluten free facility it can become contaminated by other products the facility is making.

So look on the packaging for a notification that it was made in a facility that also manufactures foods containing gluten to know if it was contaminated.

Also, if the hummus is served at a party and people are dipping pita bread into it, it is no longer gluten free.

DISCLOSURE: Not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader. Ditch the Wheat is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I only endorse products that I believe in.

Website | + posts

Carol Lovett is the founder of Ditch the Wheat and a Globe and Mail bestselling author of the cookbook, Ditch the Wheat. She has been eating gluten free since 2010. She loves all things food, natural living, and spiritual. She's also a reiki master and crystal healer.

Gluten Free Resources

Do you need help with gluten free meals?
I recommend this meal-planning app. It makes cooking gluten free dinners extremely easy and family-friendly.
What gluten free snacks can I eat?
Lots! I have a ton of practical gluten free snack recipes in my cookbook.
How can I eat dessert on a gluten free diet?
You can 100% eat dessert while eating gluten free. Try my dessert cookbook for easy gluten free dessert recipes.
How do I know what is gluten free and what isn’t?
I have a whole section is it gluten free?
How do I make substitutions?
If you need substitution advice I created a ton of resources here.

A plate with a blue rim that is filled with monster energy balls.

No Bake Monster Balls

A baking sheet with 12 oatmeal raisin balls on it.

4-Ingredient Oatmeal Raisin Balls

Sheet pan nachos with salsa and sour cream.

A Nacho Bar Party Is The Party Trend You Need To Try!

No Added Sugar Popsicles Ditch the Wheat

7 Popsicle Recipes with No Added Sugar

THE BEST Dairy-Free Mint Chip Ice Cream - coconut milk, mint and chocolate chips! It's so delicious! THE BEST Dairy-Free Chocolate Ice Cream!!! paleo ice cream, keto ice cream, keto dairy free ice cream, dairy free ice cream, dairy free ice cream, Vegan ice cream, vegan ice cream #paleoicecream #dairyfreeicecream #ketoicecream #veganicecream

Dairy Free Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Two white bowls with crispy garlicky kale chips covered in Parmesan cheese.

Crispy Garlicky Kale Chips