Is Fireball Gluten Free? It’s Controversial!

This post contains affiliate links including Amazon affiliate links.

Is Fireball Whiskey Gluten Free?

Is Fireball gluten free? So many websites gave answers that I was honestly disappointed with. Get all the facts you need right here.

I had no idea this alcohol is so controversial in the gluten free community until I started researching it.

It seemed like just another whiskey-based drink. Just like the name and the packaging it’s “fiery!” Let’s discuss.

A bottle of Fireball in a dark setting.

What is Fireball?

Fireball is a cinnamon-flavored whiskey-based liqueur. It is made from whisky, cinnamon, and other spices.

The drink was first created in Canada in the mid 1980s and has since become a popular drink around the world. This why they use the Canadian spelling for ‘whisky’.

It is typically served chilled or at room temperature, but can also be used in cocktails. 

Fireball Ingredients

The main ingredients in Fireball are whiskey, cinnamon, and other spices.

Whiskey is usually made from a mixture of cereal grains, like barley, rye, wheat, or corn and then distilled.

The exact list of spices is a closely guarded trade secret and their website has this disclaimer:

While Fireball is not made with nuts or peanuts, note that it may be produced in a facility with milk, peanuts, tree nuts, and wheat. We recommend you discuss the suitability of Fireball with your physician prior to consumption. (Source)

How is Fireball Made?

Fireball is made by combining whiskey with the spices and other ingredients.

Is Fireball Gluten Free?

No, I cannot say if Fireball is gluten free. I found no claims on their website saying it is gluten free and since their ingredient list is not public we don’t know for sure what is added to the whiskey to create Fireball.

Plus, the company acknowledges that their product is made in a manufacturing facility that contains gluten.

Many people with gluten sensitivity and allergies have also said they get very sick when they drink Fireball.

So answering does Fireball have gluten? I feel you need to treat this alcohol like it does until the brand says for sure it is gluten free.

Gluten Free Fireball

If you’re craving a gluten free Fireball I suggest making it from scratch. Whiskey is seen as gluten free because it is a distilled alcohol so you need need to add a few ingredients to make your own Fireball whiskey.

I found this simple recipe that uses two versions to make homemade Fireball whiskey.

Also read:

DISCLOSURE: Not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader. Ditch the Wheat is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I only endorse products that I believe in.

Similar Posts