Is Bourbon Gluten Free? Plus Safer Options

This post contains affiliate links including Amazon affiliate links.

Does Bourbon Have Gluten?

Raise your glass and let’s toast to an age-old question: is bourbon gluten free? Whether you’re a connoisseur or just a casual bourbon enthusiast, this dilemma is enough to make any bourbon lover pause for thought.

While some people may assume that all distilled spirits are naturally gluten free, the answer isn’t quite as simple as it seems.

It’s time to get down to the bottom of this boozy riddle.

Three bottles of bourbon.

What is Bourbon?

Bourbon is a type of American whiskey made primarily from corn, and is considered one of the most popular types of whiskey.

It is made with a grain recipe that includes at least 51% corn and is aged in charred oak barrels.

It is typically distilled at a lower proof than other whiskeys and is known for its sweet and smoky flavor. 

A glass of bourbon on the rocks.

Bourbon Ingredients

Bourbon is usually made with four main ingredients – corn, rye, barley, and wheat. These grains are fermented and then distilled, then aged in charred oak barrels.

Some of the grains used to make bourbon are gluten-containing.

Three bourbon wooden barrels.

How is Bourbon Made?

Bourbon is made by fermenting the mash of grains, usually a combination of corn, rye, barley, and wheat.

The mash is then distilled in a still and always aged in charred oak barrels. Distillation is a process during which the alcohol is separated from the other ingredients in the mash.

During this process, the gluten proteins are broken down and the resulting liquid is considered gluten free. 

Keep reading because there is more you need to know!

A bottle of bourbon.

Is Bourbon Gluten Free?

The technical answer is yes, bourbon is considered gluten free. Since the gluten proteins are broken down during the distillation process, the final product should not contain any gluten.

Many people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity say they react to distilled alcohol that is made from gluten-containing grains.

Two glasses with bourbon.

Also keep in mind, some manufacturers may add gluten-containing ingredients after the distillation process, so it is important to always check the label for any allergens. 

A hand holding a glass of bourbon.

Gluten Free Bourbon Brands

There are a few brands of bourbon that are made from 100% corn that are available on the market.

These bourbons should in theory be gluten free but I was unable to confirm with each manufacturer. Be sure to check the label to ensure that the bourbon is gluten free before purchasing.

Also read:

DISCLOSURE: Not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader. Ditch the Wheat is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I only endorse products that I believe in.

Website | + posts

Carol Lovett is the founder of Ditch the Wheat and a Globe and Mail bestselling author of the cookbook, Ditch the Wheat. She has been eating gluten free since 2010. She loves all things food, natural living, and spiritual. She's also a reiki master and crystal healer.

Gluten Free Resources

Do you need help with gluten free meals?
I recommend this meal-planning app. It makes cooking gluten free dinners extremely easy and family-friendly.
What gluten free snacks can I eat?
Lots! I have a ton of practical gluten free snack recipes in my cookbook.
How can I eat dessert on a gluten free diet?
You can 100% eat dessert while eating gluten free. Try my dessert cookbook for easy gluten free dessert recipes.
How do I know what is gluten free and what isn’t?
I have a whole section is it gluten free?
How do I make substitutions?
If you need substitution advice I created a ton of resources here.

A plate with a blue rim that is filled with monster energy balls.

No Bake Monster Balls

A baking sheet with 12 oatmeal raisin balls on it.

4-Ingredient Oatmeal Raisin Balls

Sheet pan nachos with salsa and sour cream.

A Nacho Bar Party Is The Party Trend You Need To Try!

No Added Sugar Popsicles Ditch the Wheat

7 Popsicle Recipes with No Added Sugar

THE BEST Dairy-Free Mint Chip Ice Cream - coconut milk, mint and chocolate chips! It's so delicious! THE BEST Dairy-Free Chocolate Ice Cream!!! paleo ice cream, keto ice cream, keto dairy free ice cream, dairy free ice cream, dairy free ice cream, Vegan ice cream, vegan ice cream #paleoicecream #dairyfreeicecream #ketoicecream #veganicecream

Dairy Free Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Two white bowls with crispy garlicky kale chips covered in Parmesan cheese.

Crispy Garlicky Kale Chips