Are Marshmallows Gluten Free?

This post contains affiliate links including Amazon affiliate links.

Are you wondering are marshmallows gluten free? Marshmallows are a popular treat that is often used in desserts, hot drinks, and snacks.

We’ll discuss what marshmallows are, their ingredients, the process of making them, and if you can enjoy them on a gluten free diet.

Are Marshmallows Gluten Free

What are Marshmallows? 

Marshmallows are a type of confection that consists of a sweet, spongy, gelatinous material made from a mixture of sugar, corn syrup, and gelatin.

Are Marshmallows Gluten Free

They are often white and cylindrical in shape, but they also come in different colors and sizes. Marshmallows have a soft and spongy texture, and they are often used in desserts, hot drinks, and snacks. 

When they get warm they melt and become a gooey yummy treat. I have many memories of enjoying s’mores by the campfire and pulling the melted marshmallow apart.

Are Marshmallows Gluten Free

Marshmallows Ingredients

The main ingredients in marshmallows are sugar, corn syrup, and gelatin. Many marshmallows also contain other ingredients, such as egg whites, flavorings, food coloring, and/or preservatives.

Marshmallows also contain some water, which helps to keep them soft and spongy. 

Are Marshmallows Gluten Free

How are Marshmallows Made?

I’ve made homemade marshmallows and they are surprisingly easy to make! Marshmallows are made by combining the ingredients together and heating them to a certain temperature.

This mixture is then whipped to create a thick, spongy material. The mixture is then poured into molds, cooled, and cut into the desired shape. 

Are Marshmallows Gluten Free

Are Marshmallows Gluten Free?

Marshmallows are naturally gluten free, since they do not contain any wheat, barley, or rye.

However, it is important to check the label of the marshmallows you are buying, as some brands may add gluten-containing ingredients like barley syrup. 

DISCLOSURE: Not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader. Ditch the Wheat is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I only endorse products that I believe in.

Similar Posts