Is Panko Gluten Free? Plus 5 Options That Are!

This post contains affiliate links including Amazon affiliate links.

Are Panko Bread Crumbs Gluten Free?

The light and crispy panko coating on Asian food always looks mouthwatering. Is panko gluten free and safe to eat on gluten free diets?

For individuals with gluten sensitivities or celiac disease it’s crucial to know which ingredients are safe and which ones can potentially wreak havoc on your digestive system.

Those irresistible light flakes that coat shrimp at Asian restaurants always look so tempting. We’ll shed light on whether panko is gluten free!

Sushi filled with panko coated shrimp.

What is Panko?

Panko is a type of Japanese-style breadcrumb that is made from white bread. It is typically made from crustless, white bread that has been processed until it forms small, airy flakes.

Panko has a much lighter texture than regular breadcrumbs, which makes it a great choice for frying and baking. It is often used as a crunchy topping for casseroles, salads, and other dishes.

Panko coated chicken in a black bowl with various items.

Panko Ingredients

Panko is made from white bread, water, and salt. Below are the ingredients from the Progresso brand of panko bread crumbs.

Bleached Wheat Flour, Canola Oil, Yeast. Contains less than 2% of: Dextrose, Sugar, Salt. (source)

Panko coated shrimp with sushi on a plate.

How is Panko Made?

Panko is made by combining white bread, water, and salt into a paste. This paste is then spread out into thin layers on a baking sheet and baked until crispy.

The baking time and temperature vary depending on the desired texture and consistency.

Once the panko is baked, it is broken up into small flakes and left to cool.

People eating sushi and panko coated shrimp at a restaurant.

Is Panko Gluten-Free?

No, panko is not gluten free. It is made from white bread and bread contains gluten.

Unless the panko has been made with actual gluten free panko bread crumbs it is not gluten free.

If you are at a restaurant that offers gluten free panko items you need to make sure they are frying them in oil that has not been contaminated with gluten.

Three bowls and one is filled with panko coated shrimp and the other with a sauce, and one with noodles.

Gluten Free Panko Brands

There are several brands that make gluten free panko. The ones with the * mean they are certified gluten free.

I also have more gluten free panko substitutes that you probably have in your pantry right now.

DISCLOSURE: Not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader. Ditch the Wheat is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I only endorse products that I believe in.

Similar Posts