Are Sweet Potatoes Gluten Free? Depends!

This post contains affiliate links including Amazon affiliate links.

Do Sweet Potatoes Have Gluten?

Are sweet potatoes gluten free? This depends on how they were prepared and potential cross-contamination. We’ll share our tips!

We’ll let you know everything you need to know about enjoying sweet potatoes without worrying about pesky gluten getting in the way.

Our mission at Ditch the Wheat is to enjoy food again! We all need sweet potato fries in our lives!

Diced sweet potatoes with a variety of other vegetables.

What are Sweet Potatoes?

Sweet potatoes are root vegetables that are native to Central and South America. They come in a variety of colors, including white, yellow, orange, and purple.

Sweet potatoes are rich in vitamins and minerals, making them a popular and nutritious option. I never ate sweet potatoes until I started eating Paleo and realized they are the most delicious things!!!

Sliced sweet potatoes and squash.

How are Sweet Potatoes Cooked?

Sweet potatoes are usually boiled or baked before they are consumed. They can also be roasted, mashed, or steamed.

Sweet potatoes can be used in a variety of recipes, from casseroles and soups to fries and chips. 

Are Sweet Potatoes Gluten Free?

The short answer is yes. Sweet potatoes are naturally gluten free and do not contain any gluten-containing ingredients. They are naturally gluten free if you eat them baked, boiled, or mashed plain.

Sweet potato fries on a baking sheet.

Is There Gluten In Sweet Potatoes?

There is only gluten in sweet potatoes if it has been added to the recipe or through cross-contamination.

For example, sweet potato fries ordered at a restaurant may not be gluten free because they may have been coated with flour or cooked in the same oil as a breaded food item.

A glass filled with sweet potato chips.

Gluten Free Sweet Potatoes

These items should be naturally gluten free.

  • Plain baked sweet potatoes
  • Plain boiled sweet potatoes
  • Plain sweet potato fries fried in separate oil or baked
  • Plain sweet potato chips fried in separate oil

Adding salt, herbs, or milk will still keep the above options gluten free. If you add butter make sure it hasn’t been contaminated with bread crumbs. Read why butter might not be gluten free.

DISCLOSURE: Not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader. Ditch the Wheat is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I only endorse products that I believe in.

Similar Posts